Reviews

  1. March 2022

    I decided to contact Realistic as they were listed as a Which recommended supplier. I'm in North Devon and they are in the South which was one of my reservations. I met with Ryan during the Covid pandemic to discuss the installation of a conservatory/orangery. I was impressed by the meeting and Ryan was extremely thorough, clearly an expert in his field and went through many options both in terms of the build and materials. Some time after the meeting I made some changes to my requirements and Ryan insisted on coming back to make sure that he understood what I was wanting I felt confident in the ability of Realistic to deliver what I was looking for and at a better price than local competitors without compromising on quality. Work started just a little later than was originally scheduled which wasn't an issue; parts were taking longer to come through the supply chain and Realistic kept me informed. The build team were highly competent, professional, polite and friendly. They dug out the site ready for the installation and it took quite a while before work on the build commenced. There were challenges along the way with the supplier not providing the right parts for the roof which incurred a further short delay. My build included the digging out of a new soak away through solid clay/stone/soil in scorching hot temperatures and still the team remained cheerful. The electrical installation team were also absolutely on point as were the plasterers. It was nice to have a Realistic project manager (Tony) who was really helpful throughout. Once the build was complete Ryan came back for a visit to see the installation and to gather my feedback. Yes, there were some delays during the build, but we were living in the height of the pandemic and supplies were taking longer than normal so this was not an issue. A year on, I raised a query via the Admin email box who responded immediately and have taken steps to resolve my query to my satisfaction. From a customer point of view, the fact that I was located on one coast of Devon and Realistic are on the other had no impact on me but it did mean that the teams involved were travelling and working long hours. All in all I would recommend Realistic

    Submitted:
    Helen Foss March 24, 2022
    • Realistic Home Improvements Comment

      Thank you Helen for your honest review, we appreciate the time it has taken to write. We all hope that you continue to enjoy your Ultrasky Orangery and you know where we are if you need any assistance.

  2. March 2022

    We selected Realistic because they paid full attention to the design of a roof to replace our conservatory with a span of over 4 metres. Other companies offered to build a roof which was not validated by the material supplier. Construction went very well, and the tradesmen were skilled and careful in the house and garden. The plastering was finished very well. Two minor glitches were fixed with care and without hassle.

    Submitted:
    Nick Thompson March 24, 2022
    • Realistic Home Improvements Comment

      Thank you Nick for the review and the photos of your Ultraroof replacement :-)

  3. Mar 2022

    We had some windows installed, by another company and the result including the experience, was a total disaster. So when we looked into the remainder of our windows to be fitted, we were somewhat nervous, as to what the outcome would be, when choosing another company. We chose Realistic Windows who surveyed our property and sent Chris and Matt, to carry out our window installation. Nothing was too much trouble for these two guys. Their work was impeccable, leaving the house clean and tidy, as the job progressed. Nothing was too much trouble. We were very pleased with the Realistic Window Company and would highly recommend them to others. Many thanks for all their hard work.

    Submitted:
    Mr W March 17, 2022
  4. January 2022

    I selected Realistic as they are a company approved by the roof manufacturers. The initial visit before making our decision covered all our questions and was not rushed. I was impressed with the installers attention to detail and the quality of the product. We are very pleased with the the end result and use the room more frequently than before.

    Submitted:
    Mr Long March 24, 2022
    • Realistic Home Improvements Comment

      Hi Mr Long, thank you so much for the lovely review, we are glad to hear that the new Ultraroof has changed the usage of the room for you.

  5. December 2021

    We were so pleased with every aspect of our new conservatory from Realistic. Everyone was kind, helpful and efficient and the end result excellent. Would heartily recommend this company and their products.

    Submitted:
    Frances Dowse-Brenan March 24, 2022
    • Realistic Home Improvements Comment

      Thank you Frances for the review, it's very much appreciated. I have seen some photos of your conservatory and the grey finish really looks great.

  6. Dec 2020

    Initially we were a bit worried that the room would be dark as we didn’t put any glass in the roof area, but it isn’t and we are now very glad that we didn’t. Having a solid roof has made a massive difference this summer as it never got too hot, it really is a proper room now and no longer a conservatory. We got a few quotes, some people frightened us as they just wanted to do a bodge job, where as Ryan filled us with confidence as he genuinely knew what he was talking about. The fitters were nice and did a good job. We have already recommend Realistic to other as we are so happy.

    Submitted:
    Mr & Mrs M December 17, 2020
  7. August 2021

    We had a front porch put in in August 2021 and are very pleased with the results. The porch has a tinted glass roof, which so far in the heat of August (such as we've had!) has kept the porch relatively cool. It is light and airy, and provides much needed space for coats and shoes. They started the work exactly when they said they would, were very professional and hard-working, as well as friendly. They tidied up well, and addressed a few snagging issues promptly with no hassles. My only reservation is that communication along the way was not what it could be. I had to contact them at each stage to find out when they were going to start the next stage. However, I have given 5 stars as when I raised this issue at the end, I received a very polite response from Jen, apologising and promising to pass my comments on and make sure improvements were made in this area.

    Submitted:
    Sandy September 10, 2021
    • Realistic Home Improvements Comment

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate your kind words, as well as your constructive critique.

  8. Dec 2020

    Having completed my due diligence in obtaining 3 quotation I placed my order with Realistic, they were not the cheapest, in fact, if I remember correctly they were the most expensive but I felt their overall quality to be better, I liked Ryan’s straight forward approach, and the computer images really helped us see what the room could look like. Initially, I was looking to replace the polycarbonate roof only, but I am so pleased we replaced the lot, as we love it. The new room is in a different league to then original, with the glass roof proving to be much cooler over the summer period. Paul the installer was fantastic, I cannot speak highly enough of him as well as Dan the electrician. I can’t give 5* as there has been some remedial works that have had to take place after the installation, but then again they do come back to put things right.

    Submitted:
    Mr W December 04, 2020
  9. Nov 2020

    My advice to anyone thinking about replacing their glass roof to a solid one is to do it, it’s a no brainer. The room is probably used more than any other in the house, as it’s no longer too hot or too cold. Our only complaint is the plasterers had to come back and put right some of their work, but the rest is fine, we are definitely glad that we have had it done. Like most people we obtained 3 quotes, deciding on Realistic as the others didn’t fill us with much confidence, as well as my wife doing her online research and due diligence

    Submitted:
    Mr B December 04, 2020
  10. September 2020

    My experience with this company has been very good. Lock down prevented the job from starting in the Spring as planned, but Realistic took pains to keep me up to date with their situation, and once the work got under way, it proceeded apace. Two weeks from start to finish to re-roof a 48 sq m conservatory, as well as replacing two sets of bifold doors! Paul and Kayden, the installers, were helpful, friendly, constantly cheery chappies who undertook a tremendous amount of work on a daily basis, carried out to a high standard. The installation speed was further helped when three plasterers arrived and completed the boarding and skimming of the entire ceiling in a day. The grey tiled roof looks really authentic, down to a slightly ragged edge where it appears the rock has been split. People who see it assume it is traditional slate. Realistic deserve to go from strength to strength, and I unhesitatingly recommend them.

    Submitted:
    Douglas Evans December 05, 2020